top of page
Writer's pictureEdible Fitness

20 Minute Wild Rice and Pumpkin Soup

“I will defend pumpkin until the day I die. It's delicious. It's healthy. I don't understand the backlash. How did pumpkin become this embarrassing thing to love but bacon is still the cool flavor to add to everything? I don't have anything against bacon; just don't come after pumpkin like it's a crime to love an American staple.”

-- Anna Kendrick


As the months get a little cooler and September rolls around, I always seem to get a craving for this particular recipe. I never thought that I would love pumpkin soup nearly as much as I now do, but here I am! The soup itself is smooth, silky and savoury and so easy to make. The rice adds a bit of colour and the kind of heartiness you're looking for in an autumnal soup. You just know that it will warm you up, fill you up and cheer you up all in one spoonful! I love it so much!


Ingredients:

1 Onion (chopped)

2 Cups - Chicken or Vegetable Broth

2 Cups - Water

1 Cup - Pumpkin Puree (NOT pumpkin PIE puree)

1/4 tsp - White Pepper

1/2 Tbsp - Salt

1/2 Cup - Wild Rice (cooked)


Directions:

  1. In a medium-sized pot, add a couple table spoons of olive oil and set to medium high

  2. Add the onions and stir. Saute onions until semi-translucent.

  3. Add the white pepper and stir for about 30 seconds.

  4. Add in the pumpkin puree and the broth of your choice. Stir, then add in the additional two cups of water, and allow soup to simmer for 15 minutes.

  5. Add the rice when ready to serve.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page