top of page
Writer's pictureEdible Fitness

Pasta Fagioli

"The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again." -- George Miller


I don't know how authentic this recipe is to all my Italian friends, but I certainly know that it's delicious! I can't wait for you to try this one, because it's kinda like the saying, "set it and forget it." You put the ingredients together and in a couple of hours, just before lunch or dinner, you're ready to eat! I think I added too much pasta the first time I did this recipe for the photo shoot, so I made sure to add less the next time, but then I missed the noodles lol I don't know, the choice is yours to make!

It doesn't have a lot of ingredients, it's simple, it's quick and it's something I'm sure you're going to love! Happy eating!


Ingredients:

3 Celery Stalks

3 Cloves of Garlic

Fresh Basil

Fresh Parsley

8 cups - Vegetable Broth

1- 1 1/2 cups (90-120g) - Pasta

1 cup (210g) - Tomato Sauce (just the tomatoes, no seasonings!)

1 can (540g) - White Kidney Beans / Cannellini Beans

3 small Bay Leaves

Salt and Black Pepper (to taste)


Directions:

  1. In a pot, heat a few tablespoons of olive oil. Once hot, add the onions and celery. Give the onions a few minutes until they start to turn translucent and the celery begins to soften.

  2. Add the white kidney beans and the vegetable broth.

  3. After adding all the cups of the broth, pour in the tomato sauce, fresh parsley, fresh basil, the bay leaves and the whole garlic cloves. Stir.

  4. Add the salt and pepper to taste. Stir to combine, then turn the heat down to low, cover and allow to simmer for a minimum of 2 hours.

  5. 10-15 minutes before you are ready to eat, add the pasta.

  6. Remove the bay leaves and garlic cloves, and serve.



Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page