top of page
Writer's pictureEdible Fitness

Tasty Apple Cider Spice Cake

Updated: Aug 10, 2020

"I've learnt that if I tell myself I'm not allowed something, I binge on it later. So if I want chocolate, I have chocolate. If I want biscuits, I have biscuits. I love cake. I just love cake."

- Geri Halliwell




Can I tell you guys how much I LOVE this cake?!?! Oh man! I think I made it three times while doing the video for it; just to make sure it tasted ok, of course......

I hope you'll enjoy this cake as much as I do. It freezes well, it refrigerates well, and I'm sure everyone is going to love it!


Tasty Apple Cider Spice Cake

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup - Oil

4 Eggs

1 Cup - Brown sugar

3/4 Cup - White sugar

1/2 Tsp - Ground Ginger

1 1/2 Tsp - Ground Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp - Ground Nutmeg

1 Tsp - Baking Powder

1 Tsp - Baking Soda

1 Tsp - Vanilla Extract

Zest of 1 small orange

2 Cups - Flour

1 Cup - Apple Cider


The Frosting:

1 Cup - Powdered sugar

1 Tbsp - Maple Syrup

1 1/2 Tbsp - Apple Cider

1/2 Tsp - Ground Ginger

1/2 Tsp - Ground Cinnamon

1/2 Tsp - Vanilla Extract

Sliced Almonds


Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

  2. In a bowl, combine the sugars, the orange zest, the oil, vanilla extract and the eggs. Whisk together until light and fluffy.

  3. In a separate bowl, sift the flour, baking soda, baking powders and the spices. Whisk together.

  4. In the bowl with the wet mixture, alternate adding the dry mixture and the apple cider in portions. Begin and end with the dry mixture.

  5. Pour the batter in a lightly greased bundt pan and bake for 45 minutes. Do not open the oven!

  6. When a toothpick or fork comes out dry after poking the cake, remove it from the oven and allow it to cool.

  7. For the icing, combine the icing sugar, ginger and cinnamon. Mix it together.

  8. Then add the vanilla extract, the maple syrup and the apple cider. You are looking for a mixture that is not too runny or too thick. The icing needs to drip down the cake. Add the cider slowly so you can gauge how much you'll need.

  9. Sprinkle some sliced almonds on top of the cake for an added taste and texture, and you're done!

  10. Slice and serve!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page